Because I was forced into telling a lie about him when I was eight years old put him in prison.

February 3, 2014 § Leave a comment

this is how some gals and child reps start either this or a restraining orders .

My dad has been in prison for decades for a crime he didn’t commit, all because I was forced into telling a lie about him when I was eight years old. Help my dad get pardoned by signing my petition.

Fred –
When I was eight years old, my mom scared me into telling a lie that would change the course of our family’s life.
One day when I was at home watching my dad work, I came out of the bathroom and my mom asked me if my dad had ever touched me. Confused, I said no. But then she asked me again. And I said no. She kept asking, and I kept saying no, until she became angry and threatened to beat me with a belt until I said yes. I was too young to know that my mom was using drugs at the time, and I was scared. So I said yes.
My dad was convicted of sexually assaulting me and has been in prison for over 15 years for a crime he didn’t commit. Now that I’m an adult and a mom, I’m working hard to right this wrong that should have never happened. I started a petition on Change.org asking for the Governor of New York to pardon my innocent father. Click here to sign my petition.
I remember sometimes during dinner my mom would make excuses to leave so she could find drugs. When my dad would try to stop her, they would fight, and I would cry. Now I know it’s because he wanted her to stay home with the family that he was working so hard to keep together.
After my dad was sent to prison, my siblings and I went to live with my grandmother. I told her the whole truth: that my dad had never touched me, and that my mom taught me all the words to say that would get him in trouble. My mom even admits now that this happened during one of her drug binges, and she doesn’t know why she did it.
I’ve been fighting to set my dad free with this evidence since I was 15 years old — but all of my appeals have been denied. I was recently interviewed about my story by national news, and I believe that this wave of public support can help my case. That’s why I started this petition to pressure Governor Cuomo into pardoning him. Will you help me by signing?
Thank you so much for your support.
Chaneya Kelly
Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Because I was forced into telling a lie about him when I was eight years old put him in prison. at Will County Pro-se.

meta

